SRP Events for Kids

 

2017 Summer Reading Program

Events for Children & Families


MAY


SRP Kick-Off: All About Owls Flying
Saturday, May 27 -- 2:00 p.m.

Presented by the World Bird Sanctuary. Discover these mysterious birds of the night while experiencing them in flight. All ages.
Sponsored by St. Louis Cardinals Redbird Rookies.

 
"Anansi the Spider" Puppet Show
Tuesday, May 30 -- 6:30 p.m.
Presented by Paul Mesner Puppet Theater. All Ages.
Sponsored by the Missouri State Summer Reading Program Grant.

JUNE

Chalk Art
Saturday, June 10 -- 10:00 a.m.

Create a masterpiece on the library sidewalks. All Ages.

 

Story Walk Opens
Friday, June 16

Stroll through Heman Park reading Ten Little Monkeys along the way. All Ages.
 
Kids Gaming
Saturday, June 17 -- 1:00 p.m.

Bring your games and play our game systems. 3rd - 6th Grade.

 
The Glen Foster Magic Show
Tuesday, June 20 -- 6:30 p.m.

Experience the Magic & Illusions. For All Ages.

 
Make Music Day
Wednesday, June 21 -- 10:30 a.m.
Celebrate the day with an interactive, musical story time.  Ages 3 - 6.

 
Yoga with Ratika
Monday, June 26 -- 7:30 - 8:30 p.m.

Ms. Dayaldasani, instructor at Bhakti Yoga Club. will share some yoga moves in this intro class. Gr. 2 - Teen.

 

"Beauty and the Beast"
Tuesday, June 27 -- 6:30 p.m.

A Hampstead Stage Company production. For All Ages.
Sponsored by the Friends of the University City Public Library.

 
Preschool Dance and Play
Wednesday, June 28 -- 10:30 a.m.
Musical fun with dance, a craft, & stories. Ages 3-6.

* This project is supported by the Institute of Museum and LIbrary Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Missouri State Library, a division of the Office of Secretary of State.
 
JULY
 

Family Fun Game & Craft Night
Thursday, July 6 -- 6:30 p.m.

Games, crafts, & refreshments. Ages 2 & up.

 


Family Swim
Monday, July 10 -- 5:30 p.m.

At Heman Park Pool. By Invitation Only.



Fancy Nancy Soiree

Tuesday, July 11 -- 6:30 p.m.

Stories & fun with a "Fancy Nancy" theme. Ages 4 - 9.

 



"Rockin' the Library" with Mr. Stinky Feet

Wednesday, July 12 -- 6:30 p.m.

Jim Cosgrove aka "Mr. Stinky Feet" performs in a rollicking, fun concert. For All Ages.


Builders' Day
Tuesday, July 18 -- 6:30 p.m.

We provide the supplies, you supply the imagination and build something fun. For All Ages.

 


Rhyme Time
Thursday, July 26 -- 10:30 a.m.

Storytime featuring the "Rhyme Card" songs & poems given to infants & toddlers during the summer reading program. Ages 0 - 2.


Finishers' Party
Thursday, July 27 -- 6:30 - 8:00 p.m.

Celebrate the end of the Summer Reading Program with entertainment by Nitro Joe. At U.City Community Center. For All Ages.
Sponsored by St. Louis Cardinals Redbird Rookies.



Repeating Events:
Read to a Dog

4:30 - 5:30 p.m
Thursday, June 1
Thursday, July 6

Read to a friendly service dog. Rosie & friend will be on hand to listen to willing readers.  Ages 3 & up.


Lego Fun
Create with our millions of Legos. (Please do not bring any Lego or accessories from home.) For Ages 3+
Lego4:30 - 5:30 p.m.
Wednesday, June 7
Wednesday, July 5

 


 

Movie Matinees in Lil's Treehouse
4:30 p.m.
Thursday, June 15 -- "Kubo and the Two Strings"   Rated PG
Thursday, July 20 -- "Sing" Rated PG
Thursday, August 17 -- "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" Rated PG-13


Summer Storytime:
"Build and Play"
For Ages 2 & up
10:00 a.m.
Wednesday, July 5
Wednesday, July 12
Wednesday, July 19