SRP Events for Kids

2018 Summer Reading Program

Events for Children & Families


JUNE

Story Walk
Opens Friday, June 1

Stroll through Heman Park reading Pete the Cat: Rockin' in My School Shoes.
All Ages.

 
Kick-off: "Animal Tales"
Saturday, June 2 -- 2:00 p.m.

Presented by the St. Louis Zoo. All Ages.
Sponsored by St. Louis Cardinals.

Yoga with Ratika
Monday, June 4 -- 7:30 p.m.

Ms. Dayaldasani, instructor for the Bhakti Yoga Club, will share her love of yoga in this intro class. 2nd grade, & up.
 
Performance by the Black Rep
Tuesday, June 5 -- 6:30 p.m.

The St. Louis Black Repertory Company presents a program for young people. All Ages.
Sponsored by St. Louis Cardinals.
Lego Fun
Wednesday, June 6 -- 4:30 p.m.

Create with our millions of Legos. (Please do not bring any Lego or accessories from home.) For Ages 3 & up.
Read to a Dog
Thursday, June 7 -- 4:30 p.m.

Read to a friendly service dog. Rosie & friend will be on hand to listen to willing readers.  Ages 3 & up.
Drive-in Movie: "Cars"
Thursday, June 14 -- 4:00 p.m.

Come at 4:00 to create your own "car" and enjoy the "drive-in" movie experience by watching "Cars" at 4:30. Rated G.  Ages 3 & up.
Kids Gaming
Saturday, June 16 -- 2:00 p.m.

An afternoon of gaming for 3rd - 5th grade.
Music with Celia & Friends
Tuesday, June 19 -- 6:30 p.m.

A live musical puppet show featuring Little Celia, monster puppets Charles and Lucinda and more! This lively show brings lots of puppet zaniness and is perfect for larger audiences. Live music by Celia; original puppet characters by Jeanie and puppeteer Matt Bryan. All Ages.
Sponsored by the Missouri State Summer Reading Program Grant.
Make Music Day with Robert Bernstein
Thursday, June 21 -- 6:30 p.m.

The talented and entertaining Robert Bernstein returns with a program of songs & fun. All Ages.
Family Fun Night
Tuesday, June 26 -- 6:30 p.m.

Games, Crafts, & Food.  Ages 2 & up.
Sponsored by the Missouri State Summer Reading Program Grant & the St. Louis Cardinals.
Preschool Dance & Play
Saturday, June 30 -- 10:00 p.m.

Enjoy a story, crafts, music, & activities. Ages 3-5.
JULY
 Read to a Dog
Thursday, July 5 -- 4:30 p.m.

Read to a friendly service dog. Rosie & friend will be on hand to listen to willing readers.  Ages 3 & up.

Rockin' Robots
Saturday, July 6 -- 2:00 p.m.

Play with some of our new robots and see demonstrations of Lego Mindstorms. Kdgn.-5th gr.


Family Swim at Heman Park Pool
Monday, July 9 -- 5:30 p.m.

An Invitation Only even for Summer Reading Program participants and their families. Sign up for the reading program and receive a family invitation. All Ages.


Dino O'Dell's "Libraries Rock!"
Tuesday, July 10 -- 6:30 p.m.

Dino O'Dell uses music to show that libraries are a rockin' place to visit. Kdgn.-5th gr.
 


Storytime
Wednesday, July 11 -- 10:00 a.m.

Stories & fun. Ages 2 & up.


Rockin' Robots
Saturday, July 13 -- 2:00 p.m.

Play with some of our new robots and see demonstrations of Lego Mindstorms. Kdgn.-5th gr.


"A Little Bit of STEAM" with The Magic House
Tuesday, July 17 -- 6:30 p.m.

This interactive family program brings parents and children together for hands-on discovery and fun while exploring basic Science, Technology, Engineering, Art and Math activities. All Ages.
Sponsored by the St. Louis Cardinals.


Storytime
Wednesday, July 18 -- 10:00 a.m.
Stories & fun. Ages 2 & up.


Movie: "Despicable Me 3"
Thursday, July 19 -- 4:30 p.m.

Rated PG.  All Ages.
 


Kids Gaming
Saturday, July 21 -- 2:00 p.m.

An afternoon of gaming for 3rd - 5th grade.


Storytime
Wednesday, July 25 -- 10:00 a.m.

Stories & fun. Ages 2 & up.


Finisher's Party
Thursday, July 26 -- 6:30-8:30 p.m.

A celebration of the 2018 Summer Reading Program with refreshments, prizes awarded, and entertainment by Korso the Curious. At Heman Park Community Center, 975 Pennsylvania Ave. All Ages.
Sponsored by the St. Louis Cardinals.



Repeating Events:

Read to a Dog
4:30 - 5:30 p.m
Thursday, June 7
Thursday, July 5

Read to a friendly service dog. Rosie & friend will be on hand to listen to willing readers.  Ages 3 & up.


Lego Fun
Create with our millions of Legos. (Please do not bring any Lego or accessories from home.) For Ages 3+
Lego4:30 - 5:30 p.m.
Wednesday, June 6
Wednesday, July 11

 


Movie Matinees in Lil's Treehouse
4:30 p.m.
Thursday, June 14 --
"Cars"   Rated G (Come at 4:00 to design your "car" for this "drive-in movie" event.)
Thursday, July 19 -- "Despicable Me 3" Rated PG
 


Summer Storytime
Age 2 & up.
10:00 a.m.
Wednesday, July 11
Wednesday, July 18
Wednesday, July 25


"Rockin' Robots"
For Kdgn. - 5th grade.
2:00 p.m.
Saturday, July 6
Saturday, July 13